Elgar Complete Edition

Volume 35
Music for Piano

Series V : Instrumental Music

Publication Plan

  • Projected publication date : Autumn 2023
  • Publisher : Elgar Works
  • ISBN : 978-1-904856-35-1 (hardback)

Detailed Description

  • Editor : Iain Farrington
  • Page size : 350 mm x 250 mm (portrait)
  • Binding : cloth (hardback)
  • Contents :
    • The complete full scores, re-originated in their entirety, of Elgar's completed original compositions for piano: Adieu; Chantant; Concert Allegro; Enina Waltz; Fugue in C minor; Laura Valse; Griffinesque; In Smyrna; May Song; Minuet; Pastourelle; Presto; Serenade; Skizze; Sonatina;
    • Elgar's arrangements for piano of his own works originally composed for other instrumental combinations : Cantique; Canto Popolare from In the South; Carissima; Dream Children; Rosemary; Salut d'amour; Serenade Mauresque from Three Characteristic Pieces
    • Elgar's arrangements for piano of works by others : the Scherzo from Schumann - Overture, Scherzo and Finale (op.52); Wagner - 'Entry of the Minstrels' from Tannhauser:
    • An appendix containing all known sketches and unfinished works believed to be intended for piano : March in D; Melody in E flat; Menuetto in C; Sketch in A minor; Vivace in F
    • A scholarly foreword recording the history of Elgar's composition of the works;
    • A comparative description of all known source material;
    • A comprehensive commentary detailing editorial decisions and amendments.

Return to :

What is the
Elgar Complete Edition?
A Short History of
the Complete Edition
How to Purchase from
the Complete Edition
the Complete Edition
The Full Edition,
volume by volume
Our Latest Volume Subscription Form Who is
the Complete Edition?
Our Mission Elgar Complete Edition index Welcome page index