Elgar Complete Edition

Volume 17
Grania and Diarmid; Arthur

Series III : Dramatic Works

Publication Plan

  • Projected publication date : Autumn 2023
  • Publisher : Elgar Works
  • ISBN : 978-1-904856-17-7 (hardback)

Detailed Description

  • Editor : Iain Farrington
  • Page size : 350 mm x 250 mm (portrait)
  • Binding : cloth (hardback)
  • Contents :
    • The complete full scores, re-originated in their entirety, of Elgar's incidental music Arthur and Grania and Diarmid plus the orchestral version of the song 'There are Seven that Pull the Thread';
    • The full text of Laurence Binyon's play Arthur, annotated to show the interweaving of the incidental music;
    • A scholarly foreword recording the history of Elgar's composition of the works;
    • A comparative description of all known source material;
    • A comprehensive commentary detailing editorial decisions and amendments;
    • A range of facsimiles illustrating significant features of the work's development;
    • Composer's note recording the forces required.

Return to :

What is the
Elgar Complete Edition?
A Short History of
the Complete Edition
How to Purchase from
the Complete Edition
the Complete Edition
The Full Edition,
volume by volume
Our Latest Volume Subscription Form Who is
the Complete Edition?
Our Mission Elgar Complete Edition index Welcome page index