Elgar Complete Edition

Volume 12
Sacred Music, unaccompanied or with keyboard

Series I : Choral Works

Publication Plan

  • Projected publication date : 2018
  • Publisher : Elgar Works
  • ISBN : 978-1-904856-12-2 (hardback)

Detailed Description

  • Editor : Diane Nolan
  • Page size : 350 mm x 250 mm (portrait)
  • Binding : cloth (hardback)
  • Contents :
    • The complete full scores, re-originated in their entirety, of:
      • Elgar's four major works for church service in their settings with piano accompaniment: Te Deum and Benedictus Op.34; O Hearken Thou (Intende voci orationis meae) Op.64; Great is the Lord (Psalm 48) Op.67; Give unto the Lord (Psalm 29) Op.74;
      • The three works of Opus 2 – Ave Verum Corpus, Ave Maria and Ave Maris Stella – in their original (1879) and revised (1902) versions;
      • The following hymns and sacred works with settings of Latin texts: two settings of the Credo, one based on themes from Beethoven's Symphonies Nos 5, 7 and 9; Ecce sacerdos magnus; a Gloria in F major based on Mozart's Violin Sonata; 2 settings of Kyrie Eleison; Four Litanies for the Blessed Virgin Mary; numerous other Litanies; 4 settings of O Salutaris Hostia; Salve Regina; Stabat Mater dolorosa; Tantum Ergo; two Double Chants for Psalms in D minor; two Single Chants for Venite;
      • The following hymns, carols and anthems setting English words: 'By the blood that flowed from Thee'; 'Hear Thy children gentle Jesus' (to the tune Drakes Broughton); 'Fear not, O Land'; 'Good Morrow'; 'I sing the birth'; 'Lo! Christ the Lord is Born' (including the earlier use of the tune as 'Grete Malverne on a Rock'); 'Now with the fast departing light'; 'O Mightiest of the mighty'; 'Praise ye the Lord: on ev'ry height'; 'They are at Rest'; Hymn tune in G major;
    • An appendix containing the following sketches and unfinished works : the Easter anthem 'Brother, for thee He died'; an Anthem in E flat major or C minor; a setting of Psalm 84 for soprano solo and orchestra and two psalm chants; a Chant in G minor; settings of Benedictus sit Deus pater, Domine Salvam fac reginam, Laudate Dominum, Magnificat, Regina Coeli and a Sanctus in C major; further settings of the Credo, Gloria, Kyrie Eleison and O Salutaris Hostia;
    • A scholarly foreword recording the history of Elgar's composition of the works;
    • A comparative description of all known source material;
    • A comprehensive commentary detailing editorial decisions and amendments;
    • A range of facsimiles illustrating significant features of the works' development.

Return to :

What is the
Elgar Complete Edition?
A Short History of
the Complete Edition
How to Purchase from
the Complete Edition
the Complete Edition
The Full Edition,
volume by volume
Our Latest Volume Subscription Form Who is
the Complete Edition?
Our Mission Elgar Complete Edition index Welcome page index